A race official inspects the damage done to Queenslander Keith Muller’s sedan.
A race official inspects the damage done to Queenslander Keith Muller’s sedan. Tony Powell

Robinson posts V8 Modified win at Lismore Speedway

FORMER National champion Mark Robinson turned in another strong performance when he took out the V8 Dirt Modified main event at Lismore Speedway on Saturday night.

Robinson staved off the challenges from a hot field that included American ace Gary Tomkins who was placed fourth in the feature race.

Robinson was followed across the finish line by Darren Latimer and Andrew Drake.

Heading into the fixture Tomkins made it very clear he was set for a tough night because of the strong local V8 Dirt Modified line-up.

He was correct, as Robinson produced a big drive and always looked in command of the situation. However, in the early stages, it was Latimer who held dominance and led the initial laps.

As the race settled down, Robinson made his move and raced into the lead. From that point, Robinson maintained his advantage and raced to a very convincing win.

Strong contender Peter Britten looked good early before he crashed out of the race, while Queenslander Keith Muller had a tough night and was involved in a crash that damaged part of the safety hence. The program was delayed while repairs were made to the safety barrier. As a result of the earlier interruption, the main event was shortened in order to meet the strict time curfew to complete the night’s racing.

New Yorker Tomkins acquitted himself well to the tight confines of the Lismore circuit.
He followed up his impressive heat win with a strong victory in the match race series.

“I really enjoyed the night’s racing at Lismore Speedway,” Tomkins said.

“The local guys run very hard here and I really had my work cut out to win.

“It was terrific to race at Lismore and I’d like to thank promoter David Lander for giving me the opportunity to race at his circuit.

“Also to Ray Klarich, a very special thanks for giving me such a good car for the night.”

The Speedcar main event was taken out by Brock Dean, while other feature race winners were Jordan Biviano (Junior Sedans), Warren Dhu (Four Cylinder Sedans) and Scott Owen (Street Stocks).

The next attraction at Lismore Speedway is the biggest national event of the season: the 2009 Australian Super Sedan Championship, which will be held over two nights, February 20 and 21.

Is banning anti-vaxxers denying free speech?

premium_icon Is banning anti-vaxxers denying free speech?

Should anti-vaxxers be able to hire council facilities?

Breakthrough wins on Cup day

premium_icon Breakthrough wins on Cup day

Almas wins for Lismore trainer

Local Partners