Queenslanders dominate

QUEENSLAND drivers dominated the NSW Modified Production Sedan and Formula 500 championships at Lismore Speedway.

Gympie’s Todd Doyle walked away with the sedan State championship on Saturday night, while Charlie Brown emerged the winner of the Formula 500 NSW title.

In fact, the only home State driver to manage a spot on the podium from the two events was defending NSW Formula 500 champion Steve Caunt, who finished third.

The action in both categories was fast and furious on a tough track due to rain in the lead-up.

Brown took full advantage of his upfront starting position and drove to an impressive victory, fighting off a strong challenge from Caunt as the race unfolded.

The battle between Caunt, runner-up Nathan Pronger and winner Brown was enthralling in a Formula 500 State title that ranks as one of the most exciting in recent years.

Brown set the scene earlier in the night following a heat victory, while Caunt, Pronger, Jarred Eveleigh, Ken Newton and Michael Pronger also pressed their claims with strong performances in the heats.

Meanwhile, it was a Queensland top-three finish in the NSW Modified Production Sedan championship after Doyle won from Toowoomba drivers Rodney Pammenter and Robert Trapp.

Doyle came out of position two and was the dominant runner, but Gavin Fletcher looked impressive.

Doyle and Fletcher figured in an exciting battle, but it all came to an abrupt end when Fletcher crashed out of the event while running closely with Doyle.

Sedan race officials reported Fletcher’s car had earlier broken a front suspension component that ultimately resulted in his exit.

It also was a tough night for the defending champion Andrew Blackwell, who did not start the main event due to engine problems.

Defending State titleholder Steve Price withdrew early in the NSW title showdown, while Greg Worling was sidelined with a flat tyre.

Brett Baxter was the star of the heats with two wins as Doyle, Fletcher, Justin Drew, Mark Ferguson, Greg Worling and Nathan Macdonald also recorded victories in the preliminary events, while Max Clarke won the B-Main.

Winners of the other categories on the night were Nathan Gordon (four-cylinder sedans), Jordan Biviano (junior sedans) and Ned Doherty (AMCA sedans).

Mental health survey for our entertainers

Mental health survey for our entertainers

Findings will be used to develop a prevention framework

Circa's new performance is a Peepshow

Circa's new performance is a Peepshow

The new production will have a Northern Rivers world premiere

Man arrested after 3 hour pursuit

Man arrested after 3 hour pursuit

The offender has been evading police since February 23.

Local Partners