Terry Murphy, who will play for Shaws Bay Hotel in the Ballina Twenty20 series.
Terry Murphy, who will play for Shaws Bay Hotel in the Ballina Twenty20 series.

Power and pace the key

BRETT CRAWFORD came up with the Ballina Twenty20 cricket concept and now he can be credited with picking the team to beat.

Crawford will captain the Shaws Bay Hotel side in Ballina's inaugural Twenty20 tournament which starts on November 11.

It is a side littered with talent.

The line-up includes hard-hitting batsmen Darren Wright and Stuart Rose and strike bowlers Janeth De Silva, Jason Caught, Jarrod Seiffert, Terry Murphy and himself.

Crawford, who captains Tintenbar-East Ballina in the Far North Coast LJ Hooker League, spoke highly of his team's chances during the tournament launch on Thursday night at the Shaws Bay Hotel.

"We can win it," he said.

"We have some good bowlers and I think (Sri Lankan) Janeth will adapt to the conditions well."

Northern Star captain Steve Robb managed to select two sought-after players in Sam Adams and Jeewan De Silva.

Ballina Bears all-rounder Adams has the game for Twenty20 - he can produce the big shots with the willow and generates good pace with the ball.

Jeewan De Silva took 31 wickets last season for Lennox Head and Byron Bay.

"It's good that we don't have to bowl to someone like Sam," Robb said.

"Jeewan did his hamstring in the SCG Country Cup playing for Ballina last Sunday but he should be right for next Friday."

Shane Jacobs will captain the Barlows Bolt Barn team and believes some veteran signings will give his franchise a strong chance of winning the tournament, which will be played at Fripp Oval.

Jacobs has recruited former Ballina Bears premiership winner and Sydney first-grader Nathan Anson and former West Indies first-lass cricketer Carl Simon.

Simon, a left-handed batsman and right-arm fast-medium bowler, played for the Leeward Islands in the West Indies and took 60 wickets in 23 first-class matches at an average of 30.96.

Ballina Bears' Hooker League club captain Jacobs, himself a veteran, is eagerly anticipating the chance to play alongside talented young top-graders Brad Robertson and Ben Carruthers for the Bolt Barn.

"I'm at the end of my career so I'm looking forward to playing with some young kids," he said.

Tintenbar-East Ballina's Luke Shay will captain Davey Pumps.

Shay nominated Abe Crawford as someone who could hit the ball long and Jamie Doyle as another potential Twenty20 star.

Doyle has come out of retirement to play in the new competition.



Barlows Bolt Barn: Shane Jacobs (c), Nathan Anson, Brad Robertson, Carl Simon, Mark Newstead, Ben Carruthers, Paul Milgate, Adam Gordon, Danesh Mali, Chris Jones, Mark Breckenbridge, Garth Andrews, Jacob Stevenon, Tim Stokes, Justin Lockwood.

Shaws Bay Hotel: Brett Crawford (c), Darren Wright, Jason Caught, Janith De Silva, Nathan Hoey, Jarrod Seiffert, Stuart Rose, Terry Murphy, Nathanial Scott, James McDonald, Chad Mills, James Newstead, Toby DeJong, Andrew McLachlan, Josh Garrett.

Davey Pumps: Luke Shay (c), Abe Crawford, Jeremy Cowin, Luke Hamilton, Jamie Doyle, Mark Hoare, Cullum Jordan, Aaron Klassen, Luke Hall, Ryan Pearce, Paul Denning, Dean Cameron, Ben Nurse, Nathan Collins.

Northern Star: Steve Robb (c), Sam Adams, Liam Smith, Jeewan De Silva, Steve Prosser, Lee Pittavino, Kristian Ezzy, Adam Rose, Jarrod Thompson, George Fleming, Mark Duncan, Callum Bryant, Barry Phipps, Phoenix Jenner.

Draw: Round 1, Friday, November 11: Davey Pumps v Barlows Bolt Barn at 4.45pm; Shaws Bay Hotel v Northern Star at 7.15pm.

Unusually hot: Temperatures to nudge 30 degrees

premium_icon Unusually hot: Temperatures to nudge 30 degrees

From the coldest day of the month straight into hot winter weather

Family ask why police stopped searching for Damien so soon

Family ask why police stopped searching for Damien so soon

"Damien was a devoted father ... his passing has devastated us all"

Sorry Queensland, but you're missing out (again)

Sorry Queensland, but you're missing out (again)

Over the border they're debating daylight saving for the 657th time

Local Partners