CSG exclusion zones: are you in an "urban centre" or "hamlet"?

LONG-AWAITED coal seam gas exclusion zones were mostly finalised by the NSW Government yesterday, covering some 95% of dwellings in petroleum licence areas.

All urban residential and low density residential areas are included in the zones (R1-R4), plus rural villages (RU5).

Future residential developments such as Lismore are also slated for exclusion and are on display. It includes two areas northwest and southwest of Casino, a large area north of Cumbalum in Ballina Shire, West Ballina and along the Ballina Shire coast, and proposed North Lismore Plateau development.

Are you in an exclusion zone? 

But except for two notable exceptions in Modanville and Goonengerry, areas zoned as large lot residential (R5) are not included.

They include Richmond Hill, Coffee Camp, Rosebank in the Lismore LGA, and Fairy Hill in Richmond Valley Council.

Lock the Gate Alliance have called for the buffer zones to be extended to these areas, as well as around homes on rural properties.

"This disparity is causing major anguish in rural areas and really needs to be addressed," LTG spokeswoman Carmel Flint said.

Crisis? What gas crisis? asks energy policy expert

More CSG restrictions needed on prime agricultural land, says NSW Farmers

The NSW Government has also categorised one million hectares of additional prime farmland as Biophysical Strategic Agricultural Land (BSAL). It features an extensive corridor along the upper Richmond River valley from Coraki to Kyogle, and the entire Alstonville plateau.

This land is potentially available for the CSG industry, but needs a more stringent approvals process via a Gateway Panel which includes the impact on agriculture and water.

Any proposed projects on BSAL are also referred to the Commonwealth Independent Expert Scientific Committee (IESC) for advice.

While the CSG exclusion zones have been welcomed by most groups, calls for the government to rule out CSG on prime agricultural land have been widespread.

Exclusion zones

Lismore local government area

All residential areas in zoning classifications R1 to R4. Also included are rural villages, RU5, such as:

  •  Nimbin (pictured above)
  •  Dunoon
  •  Bexhill
  •  The Channon
  •  Caniaba residential area
  •  Coraki
  •  Wyrallah
  •  Goonengerry
  •  Modanville

Outside exclusion zone

Anywhere zoned R5 - large lot residential. R5 zoned areas are small lots from 4000sq m up to 2.5ha. These include:

  •  Rosebank
  •  Richmond Hill (pictured above)
  •  Coffee Camp

Ballina Shire exclusion zones:

  • Skennars Head/Lennox Head
  • Ballina/East Ballina
  • Cumbalum
  • Alstonville/Wollongbar
  • Wardell village

Richmond Valley Shire exclusion zones:

  • Coraki
  • Broadwater
  • Woodburn
  • Rileys Hill
  • Evans Head
  • Rappville village
  • Whiporie Village

Some residential areas in Richmond Valley where the exclusion zones DON'T APPLY (rural residential areas zoned R5)

  • North Casino
  • Fairy Hill
  • Spring Grove

Byron Shire Council exclusion zones:

  • Federal village
  • Main Arm village
  • Billinudgel village
  • Byron Bay/Suffolk Park
  • Bangalow
  • Mullumbimby
  • Ocean Shores/Brunswick Heads
  • Goonengerry (TBA)

Some residential areas in Byron Shire NOT included (rural residential areas zoned R5):

  • Ewingsdale
  • Coopers Shoot
  • Skinners Shoot
  • Broken Head

Kyogle Shire exclusion zones:

  • Kyogle

** more to come for Kyogle

Man killed while clearing trees on property near Lismore

Premium Content Man killed while clearing trees on property near Lismore

The man was found trapped by a fallen tree on Friday night

Man charged over Northern Rivers robbery

Premium Content Man charged over Northern Rivers robbery

POLICE will allege in court the two men threatened the employees with a knife and a...