Local landcarers chance to shine

LOCAL Landcarers being encouraged to submit a nomination for the biennial NSW Landcare Awards.

This comes after NSW led the country with the greatest number of finalists recognised with an Award or being highly commended at the 2014 National awards.

Celebrating a silver milestone this year, the Awards have been running for 25 years and celebrate the many achievements of Landcare across a number of diverse areas, including sustainable farming, Coastcare, Junior Landcare, Indigenous land management, and more.

With nine national categories to choose from there is certain to be one to fit any kind of Landcare project or local hero, and all winners at a state and territory level will proceed as finalists to the 2016 National Landcare Awards.

Entries close on 31 May and anyone interested in finding out more or submitting a nomination can visit landcareonline.com.au.

The New South Wales Landcare Awards, run by the Department of Primary Industries and hosted by Central Tablelands LLS, are supported by Landcare Australia through funding from the Australian Government's National Landcare Programme.


2015 State & Territory Landcare Awards Categories

  • Australian Government Individual Landcarer
  • Australian Government Landcare Facilitator or Coordinator
  • Australian Government Innovation in Sustainable Farm Practices
  • Australian Government Partnerships with Landcare
  • Coastcare Award
  • Junior Landcare Team
  • Young Landcare Leader
  • Indigenous Land Management
  • Landcare Community Group