The Gmail feature you demanded for years is finally here

GOOGLE has installed an "undo send" function as a formal setting on its email service.

That means no more moments of utter embarrassment when you realise you've accidentally sent a message to someone you weren't supposed to or sent one with a glaring error in it.

The feature has been available in Google Labs, a testing platform, for a while now and was recently introduced in the new Google Inbox app, the company explained in a blog post on Monday.

But after feedback from customers - some of whom appear to have been sending holiday plans to their bosses and kinky messages to their dads instead of to their spouses (see video below) - the feature has also been rolled out on Gmail for the web.

The feature can be switched on in 'Settings' - with a period of between five and 30 seconds available:

After sending an email, a small box appears at the top of the page which allows the user to "undo" and edit their message before sending again (or deleting altogether).



How an English woman met and married an ex-convict

How an English woman met and married an ex-convict

What made this young woman travel across the globe to a new country?

AUCTION: Private retreat in the middle of suburbia

AUCTION: Private retreat in the middle of suburbia

A charming urban retreat is set to go to auction

BOOK NOW: 10 gigs you cannot miss this June

premium_icon BOOK NOW: 10 gigs you cannot miss this June

Comedy, music, theatre and more

Local Partners