Betty Hancock (left) and Elma Hancock with author Jim Brigginshaw at the launch of his new book Over My Dead Body.
Betty Hancock (left) and Elma Hancock with author Jim Brigginshaw at the launch of his new book Over My Dead Body. The Northern Star

Former Star editor publishes novel

IT was 20 years in the making, and this week Jim Brigginshaw found some closure as he launched his semi-autobiographic novel Over My Dead Body – his second book to hit the shops in a week.

For readers of Mr Brigginshaw’s previous books – compilations of his humorous column Our Crazy World published in The Northern Star for over 20 years while he was the editor, his latest book is a dramatic change of pace.

Over My Dead Body is a deadly serious book,” he said.

“It’s about the Great Depression, which I feel is pretty apt, because you can see a great similarity in what is happening in the world today and what happened in the 1930s when I was a kid growing up in the coal fields at Ipswich.”

The novel broadly follows the life of Mr Brigginshaw’s father, a coal miner who died of dusted lungs.

The book takes its title from the father who warns his sons: “You will only work in the mines over my dead body.”


'No one said anything': Advocate calls on police to step in

premium_icon 'No one said anything': Advocate calls on police to step in

Advocate hopes inquiry will encourage police to call out misconduct

Your chance to see the best gardens in Lismore

Your chance to see the best gardens in Lismore

Learn the secrets of the region's green thumbs

Tragedy struck this young family

Tragedy struck this young family

Struggles of a pioneering Italian family

Local Partners