Former captain Harvey Bell is back playing in the centres for Byron Bay in FNC rugby
Former captain Harvey Bell is back playing in the centres for Byron Bay in FNC rugby Vicki Kerry

Bell rings again at Byron Bay

BYRON Bay have emerged as a premiership threat once again after the recent return of centre Harvey Bell in Far North Coast Rugby Union.

Bell has played two games back since his courageous performance in the 2015 grand final where almost dragged Byron Bay to a premiership with a busted shoulder.

A win today would go a long way to cementing fourth spot and the chance at a third straight grand final appearance when they take on the Bulls at Albert Park, Casino.

"We've looked a lot sharper and we're starting to gel a bit better as a side since Harvey came back," Byron Bay coach Paul Jeffery said.

"It's not just his attack, he brings plenty of chat and identifies when we're short on numbers in defence.

"He can also help some of the inexperienced guys around him and our bigger forwards like Dru Baggaley are lot more dangerous when they're running off him."

Casino are in a tough spot, they forfeited a catch-up game against Ballina last weekend and will need to win this one to keep its semi-finals hopes alive.

"Every game is a final for them now and we won't be taking them lightly," Jeffery said. "We've had a number of disruptions ourselves this season and we've been our own worst enemy at times.

"We're coming off a pretty good win against Bangalow where we had a great first half but were very inconsistent at the back end of the game."

In other games, Lismore host Bangalow at Lismore Rugby Park.

Lennox Head takes on Southern Cross University at Williams Reserve, Lennox Head.

And Casuarina has a home game against Wollongbar-Alstonville.

Ballina has the bye.


Casino: 1. Brock Armstrong, 2. Ben Collison, 3. Nathan Davy, 4. Ewen McQueen, 5. Callum McLennan, 6. Billy McQueen, 7. Josh Fuller, 8. Jake Kennedy, 9. Stephen Murchie (c), 10. Harrison Cusack, 11. Jason Birney, 12. Connor Lynes, 13. Glen Pollard, 14. Rusiate Loganimasi, 15. Josefa Lalabalavu. Coach: Doug Murray

Byron Bay: 1. Charlie Read, 2. Will Rudkin, 3. Luke Philip, 4. Cash Chapman, 5. Troy Wynter, 6. Evan Mallory, 7. Craig Wallace, 8. Dru Baggaley, 9. Tomi Priestland, 10. James Bulmer, 11. Simon Fathoux, 12. Harvey Bell, 13. John Laughlin, 14. Michael Cooney, 15. Jascha Saeck. Coach: Paul Jeffery.

Lismore: 1. Gavin Tulk, 2. Chris Doolan, 3. Dallas Flanagan (c), 4. Ben Briggs, 5. Caleb Burke, 6. Zane Hepton, 7. Andrew Lynch, 8. Will Cotterill , 9. Dean Matthews, 10. Mitchell Krause, 11. Darcy Ramsay, 12. Nigel Marshall, 13. Daniel Marsh, 14. Andrew Sky, 15. Riley Taylor. Coach: Will Cotterill

Bangalow: 1. Dan Hill, 2. Matt Gibson, 3. Sam Rawsthorne, 4. Jock Craigie, 5. Angus Dickson, 6. Logan Melville, 7. Isaac Hill, 8. Daniel Rollinson (c), 9. Tim Cohen, 10. Dan White, 11. Chris Bleakley, 12. Ryan Duffy, 13. Adam Musa, 14. Harley Williams, 15. Matthew Tabb. Coach: Warren Fisher

Casuarina: 1. Adam Parlby, 2. Daniel Heritage (c), 3. Robert Beacroft, 4. Jack Pick, 5. Neil Hazelman, 6. Barney Warea, 7. James McMahon, 8. Timoci Rokosuka, 9. Darcy McGregor, 10. Adam Leach, 11. Lewis Epapara, 12. Iosefo Taqiri, 13. Jay Younger, 14. John Ainsworth, 15. Kai George Coach: Adam Leach

Wollongbar Alstonville: 1. Matt Wright, 2. Bill Johnston, 3. Joel Crowther, 4. Nick Jones, 5. Daniel Salgram, 6. Vaughan Sandral, 7. Benji Tiatia, 8. Hamish Mould, 9. Louis Hollman, 10. Justyn Keir, 11. George Toomey, 12. Vincent Chee, 13. Rory Collings, 14. Jarrod Wyllie, 15. Sam Kerry (c)Coach: John Jenkins

Lennox Head: 1. Nick Bordin, 2. John Young, 3. Matthew Liddle (c), 4. Mick Muir, 5. Hayden Blair, 6. Sam Powell, 7. Luke Mounic, 8. Jerry Faifaise, 9. Abe Goldsmith, 10. Adam Gordon, 11. Martin McNamara, 12. Zac Beecher, 13. Brad Lees, 14. Paul Crozier, 15. Sam Fitzgerald Coach: Jason McCombie

Southern Cross University: 1. Mitch Bird, 2. Kirk Taylor-Brown, 3. Pete Murphy, 4. Tim Jeffery, 5. Riley Spencer, 6. Shannon Love, 7. Ben Prozinski, 8. Matt Anderson, 9. Zac Hyatt, 10. Latrell Hampton, 11. Matt McMullen, 12. Josh Wrigley, 13. Aaron Ashley, 14. Sydney Gouffault, 15. Dean Wilson (c). Coach: Josh Condon

How Lismore will help launch careers of thousands of pilots

Premium Content How Lismore will help launch careers of thousands of pilots

A new initiative to train up commercial pilots has been a decade in the making.

Towns that will or won’t have Anzac Day services this year

Premium Content Towns that will or won’t have Anzac Day services this year

FULL LIST: Where you can still go to pay your respects

New IVF clinic will save couples big dollars

Premium Content New IVF clinic will save couples big dollars

Lismore clinic aims to relieve some of the stress