GOT HIM! Tintenbar-East Ballina captain and all-rounder Brett Crawrford takes another Hooker League wicket
GOT HIM! Tintenbar-East Ballina captain and all-rounder Brett Crawrford takes another Hooker League wicket

Crawford wins fourth award


TINTENBAR-EAST BALLINA captain Brett Crawford claimed his fourth Far North Coast LJ Hooker League Cricketer of the Year award at the Byron Bay Bowling Club last night.

Crawford, an all-rounder with the joint minor premiers, secured the award with 16 votes from Alstonville batsman Greg Potter (14), Lennox Head's Mark Denmeade (13), Cudgen's Michael Anderson (12) and Souths' Paul McLean (12).

Young Workers all-rounder Jeremy Cowin, classy Tintenbar batsman Phil Dalli and Brunswick-Byron's Peter Leeson (all 10) also figured prominently in the voting.

Although Cowin missed out on the major award, he did claim the inaugural Under-21 Hooker League Player of the Year for a season in which he averaged 42.22 with the bat and claimed 18 wickets with the ball.

Crawford had won his previous awards - which is sponsored by the Greg Chappell Cricket Centre - in 1997-98, 2003-04 and 2005-06.

Fine night

It capped a fine night for the right-hander as he also received the bowling aggregate trophy with 28 wickets and the fielding award with 10 catches.

His Tintenbar team-mate, Scott Hogden, won the wicketkeeping award for most dismissals with 20, while Dalli took the batting average (85.17).

It's the second time Dalli has won the batting average for the Hooker League, previously claiming it in 2000-01 with 45.63.

Ballina Bears batsman Sam Adams topped the batting aggregate with 423 runs while Cudgen bowler Michael Anderson claimed the bowling average with 11.21.

The inaugural Coachcap Team of the Year produced few surprises, with the side dominated by wise old heads.

Dalli and Souths captain Richard Nind were named as openers with Potter, Casino's Sam Irvine, McLean and Adams rounding out the batting order.

Jason Fletcher (South Tweed Colts) got the nod as wicketkeeper, with Crawford, Craig Bonner (Terranora Lakes), Denmeade, Al Nowlan (Casino) and Anderson nominated as the bowlers.

All received a cap and shirt courtesy of Coachcap. Player of the Year voting:

16 Brett Crawford (Tintenbar)

14 Greg Potter (Alstonville)

13 Mark Denmeade (Lennox Head)

12 Michael Anderson (Cudgen), Paul McLean (Souths)

11 Craig Bonner (Terranora)

10 Jeremy Cowin (Workers), Phil Dalli (Tintenbar), Peter Leeson (Brunswick-Byron) 10.

Coachcap Team of the Year: Richard Nind, Phil Dalli, Greg Potter, Sam Irvine, Paul McLean, Sam Adams, Jason Fletcher, Brett Crawford, Craig Bonner, Mark Denmeade, Alan Nowlan, Michael Anderson.

Individual awards: Batting aggregate, Sam Adams (Bears) 423 runs; batting average, Phil Dalli (Tintenbar) 85.17; bowling aggregate, Brett Crawford (Tintenbar) 28 wickets; bowling average, Michael Anderson (Cudgen) 11.21; most catches (fieldsman), Brett Crawford (Tintenbar) 10; most dismissals (wicketkeeper), Scott Hogden (Tintenbar) 20.

Under-21 Player of the Year: Jeremy Cowin (Workers) 380 runs at 42.22; 18 wickets.

Cop used excessive force on naked teenager

premium_icon Cop used excessive force on naked teenager

Commission findings handed down on violent teen arrest

Blogger defends Serge Benhayon 'dark past' claims

premium_icon Blogger defends Serge Benhayon 'dark past' claims

Press kit suggested group used 'mind control' techniques, court told

Local Partners